Review: Mother Mother’s “O My Heart”

Mother Mother’s debut album, “Touch Up,” was one of those impulsive listening station purchases for me. I was drawn in by the creepy artwork, and hooked by the band’s fearlessly offbeat pop sound, which really has no obvious contemporary equivalent. Over the long run, though, it proved too offbeat for me. The stop-start-stop twee harmonies and too-quirky lyrics smacked of novelty after a short while.

But I thought the band had promise, so I jumped at the chance to review their follow-up, “O My Heart,” which was just released this month. The new album succeeds where the last one failed, and earned my highest number rating to date at Popmatters.

Listen to one of my favorite tracks from the album:

One Response to Review: Mother Mother’s “O My Heart”

Leave a Reply

